, ,

ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System

ISO 22000:2018 is an ISO standard for Food Safety Management System. This system help an organization to control the food safety, hazards and to ensure that food is safe to consume. This management system can be adopt by any organization which have process or business related to food, no matter what size is the organization.

This is not a license. It is an international requirements which define by International Standard Organization (ISO) for food safety management purpose. In order to get the ISO 22000 certification for your organization, your organization need to fulfill the ISO 22000 requirements. All the requirements are listed in the ISO 22000 standard. This standard document can be purchase from This standard usually will be revised within 5 to 10 years. The lastest revision is ISO 22000:2018, which is revised in Jun 2018.

The benefit of ISO 22000:

  • Good management System to control food hazards
  • Cost Saving and reduce food hazard incidents
  • Expanding to international markets
  • Increase customer confident and to stake holder
  • Increase profitability
  • Better branding for the organization image
  • Continue improvement on organization performance

Read more


New Revision for ISO 22000:2018

This new version ISO 22000:2018 was released on June 2018. With the released of the new version, the older version ISO 22000:2005 will be cancelled and replaced.

The key changes in 2018 version are below:

  1. High level structure: New standard will follow the same structure as ISO 9001 it easier for different type of Management System Integration
  2. Risk Management: Requires organisation to identify, analyse and take action to address any risks that may impact the management system to deliver its intended results.
  3. PDCA cycle: the standard clarifies the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle. New standard will enhance to have 2 separate PDCA cycles to cover management system and the principles of HACCP.
  4. Operation process: Clearer description is given to the differences between key terms such as: Critical Control Points (CCPs), Operational Prerequisite Programmes (OPRPs) and Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs).

Read more