Food Safety Grade in Malaysia

As per Food Hygiene Regulations (FHR) 2009, it is mandatory for every owner and occupier involve in food preparation/manufacturing premises to establish a Food Security Assurance Program. It is a regulation enacted according to Section 34 of the Food Act 1983. The purpose is to give assurance to end user the food is safe and quality. There are few type of Food Security Assurance program – GMP (Good Manufacturing Practice), HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point), ISO 22000 (Food Safety Management System). However to some of the SME or SMI found it is challenging in implementation.

This is where Ministry of Health (MOH) is introduce MeSTI scheme which is fulfil the minimum requirements of Food Hygiene Regulation 2019 for SME & SMI.

MeSTI – MeSTI Secure Food Certification Scheme, is a simple scheme to fulfil the minimum requirements of Food Act. Food preparation premises will be guided in developing and implementing the scheme in their operation. It is sponsor by government which FREE for the whole implementation and granting certificate. To apply, food premise must be registered with MOH. You can submit your application online in this link –

GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices) – Process must be clearly defined, documented, controlled, monitoring and record. Environment aspect like air, water, ventilation, light, Waste, temperature, etc need to have proper control to prevent contamination. Operators/food handler must be trained on the GMP knowledge how to control the person hygiene. Warehouse/storeroom pest control needed. Initial ingredient/raw material  check point. Product need to have a traceability system which can be recall if any contamination, and complaints must be examined to prevent re-occurrence.

HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) – HACCP applies to any organisation involved directly or indirectly in the food chain and pharmaceutical industry. HACCP has 7 principles:

  1. Conduct a hazard analysis
  2. Determine critical control points (CCP) where loss of control may result in an unsafe product
  3. Establish critical limits for each critical control point (CCP)
  4. Establish CCP monitoring plan, procedure and record
  5. Establish corrective action plan
  6. Establish record keeping procedure
  7. Establish verification program to ensure the effectiveness of HACCP system

ISO 22000 (Food Safety Management System) – ISO 22000 standard is an international standard developed by International Organisation of Standard (ISO). It is a framework that combines prerequisite programs, GMP, the HACCP principles and application steps as described by the Codex Alimentarius Commission and elements of the ISO 9001:2000 standard.

ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System

ISO 22000:2018 is an ISO standard for Food Safety Management System. This system help an organization to control the food safety, hazards and to ensure that food is safe to consume. This management system can be adopt by any organization which have process or business related to food, no matter what size is the organization.

This is not a license. It is an international requirements which define by International Standard Organization (ISO) for food safety management purpose. In order to get the ISO 22000 certification for your organization, your organization need to fulfill the ISO 22000 requirements. All the requirements are listed in the ISO 22000 standard. This standard document can be purchase from This standard usually will be revised within 5 to 10 years. The lastest revision is ISO 22000:2018, which is revised in Jun 2018.

The benefit of ISO 22000:

  • Good management System to control food hazards
  • Cost Saving and reduce food hazard incidents
  • Expanding to international markets
  • Increase customer confident and to stake holder
  • Increase profitability
  • Better branding for the organization image
  • Continue improvement on organization performance

Continue reading ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System


HACCP Certification is a management system which is internationally recognized to reduce hazards in food. Through the analysis and control of the system, it helps to address the food safety of biological, chemical, and physical hazards from raw materials production, procurement and handling, to manufacturing, distribution and consumption of the finished products

New Revision for ISO 22000:2018

This new version ISO 22000:2018 was released on June 2018. With the released of the new version, the older version ISO 22000:2005 will be cancelled and replaced.

The key changes in 2018 version are below:

  1. High level structure: New standard will follow the same structure as ISO 9001 it easier for different type of Management System Integration
  2. Risk Management: Requires organisation to identify, analyse and take action to address any risks that may impact the management system to deliver its intended results.
  3. PDCA cycle: the standard clarifies the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle. New standard will enhance to have 2 separate PDCA cycles to cover management system and the principles of HACCP.
  4. Operation process: Clearer description is given to the differences between key terms such as: Critical Control Points (CCPs), Operational Prerequisite Programmes (OPRPs) and Prerequisite Programmes (PRPs).

Continue reading New Revision for ISO 22000:2018